Change

The moving truck finally arrived and they loaded our stuff and we left. We had lived in that state for 10 years. This was going to turn out to be a bigger move than I would have ever imagined. Have you ever had a big move before? In the past I have moved from Texas to Louisiana to Oklahoma. The moves get harder the older I become. The kids are olders, actuall one is an adult in college. This will always complicate a move.

With all the hassles, why did I still do it? Why does anyone move when there is so much that changes?

Perhaps the answer is found in that word “change.” I need change. I get into a routine that can often end up becoming a rut. With all the trouble, it is still worth the change.

Change is a “not so subtle” message to me that I am not in control. In fact, there is very little in my life I have total control over. I can’t control my kids, wife or coworkers. I can’t control the weather. I certainly can’t control the price of gas. But I should be able to control myself. I should control my temper. I should control my attitude. I should control my tongue. Self control is the one area that I can and should be in control. Change exposes the weaknesses or strengths of my character.

Change is another way that we grow. Often the way we grow the most is when we go through the most painful change. For me, It is a change that I didn’t ask for or expect. But having gone through it, I grow as a person. You have probably read the addage that is said when facing problems, “You either grow bitter or better.” This can be appied to the broader issues of change.

Change is authored by God. God is not suprised by change. I am, and maybe you are also, but not God. What some may call “The Big Bang” of naturalism when space, matter and time came into being from nothingness we call God being creative. God was making a statement of change, and what a change it was. As the Bible reads, “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.”

The greatest change is when this creator of all that is, becomes personal by change in a human heart. I had that experience several years ago. You can read about it at www.mostimportantthing.org and type in Jimmy Kinnaird in the search box. God made a great change in my heart and is continuing that change through the years.

Is it time for a change in your life? Would you consider exploring the possibility that there really is a God and he is personal, relational and knowable?

Maybe you already have met him in the person of Jesus Christ. He is the one who died and then arose and conquered sin and death. Perhapse one great change you need to make is how you represent and present Jesus Christ to others. One of the last words of Jesus in the Bible are found in the Book of Revelation. He says, “Behold, I make all things new.” Now that is a change worth finding.

About Jimmy Kinnaird

Jimmy started his ministry on the streets of the French Quarter of New Orleans leading a jazz band as a tool to witness for Christ. He has also been a church staff member, church planter, pastor, and Church Outreach Team Leader for the Baptist General Convention of Oklahoma. Recently, Jimmy served as Personal Evangelism Resource Coordinator on the Personal Evangelism Team at the North American Mission Board, SBC. He is currently pastor of Village Baptist Church in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.
This entry was posted in Personal Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

